Τhe “2012 Excellent Young Wind Doctor” European Academy of Wind Energy (EAWE) award is issued to a Ph.D graduate of our Department


The Ph.D graduate of the Dept. of Mechanical Engineering and Aeronautics, Dr. Dimitris Chortis, received the "2012 Excellent Young Wind Doctor" award by the European Academy of Wind Energy (EAWE). EAWE was founded in 2004 and acts as the scientific branch of the European Wind Energy Association (EWEA). The award was issued to Dr. Chortis for his Ph.D Thesis work with title "Nonlinear Mechanics and Finite Element with Material Damping for the Static and Dynamic Analysis of Composite Wind Turbine Blades", which was completed in  2012 with Prof. D. A. Saravanos as supervisor.